Osborne remains chancellor in continuity Cabinet

8 May 15

Prime Minister David Cameron has announced that George Osborne is to continue as chancellor and has also been given the title of first secretary of state.

Announcing the first round of posts in his new cabinet this evening following the Conservative’s election victory, Cameron confirmed four unchanged posts in his administration. In addition to Osborne, Theresa May will remain as home secretary, Philip Hammond will continue as foreign secretary and Michael Fallon as defence secretary.

The post of first secretary of state was held in the last parliament by William Hague in both the post of foreign secretary and when he was reshuffled to the role of leader of the House of Commons last July.

The position, which is not used in every government, was held in the last Labour government by John Prescott from 2001 to 2007 and by Lord Mandelson from June 2009 to May 2010. It marks the most senior member of the Cabinet other than the prime minister, and makes Osborne the deputy prime minister in all but name.

Did you enjoy this article?