Theresa May appoints cabinet as she negotiates deal with DUP

12 Jun 17

Most ministers in the cabinet keep their jobs after Theresa May’s cabinet reshuffle following the general election.

The cabinet is due to meet for the first time today after the Conservative's lost their majority last week.

Damian Green has become May’s second in command as the first secretary of state and minister for the Cabinet Office, in the reshuffle announced over the weekend. He was  formerly the secretary of state for work and pensions.

Andrea Leadsom has been moved to Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons to make way for Michael Gove, who returns to the cabinet as environment, food and rural affairs secretary.

Liz Truss has been made chief secretary to the Treasury making way for David Lidington in the justice secretary role.

Philip Hammond remains as the chancellor of the exchequer, Boris Johnson as the foreign secretary, Amber Rudd at the Home Office and Sir Michael Fallon as the secretary for defence.

Jeremy Hunt remains at the Department for Health. See the full list of ministerial appointments below.

Meanwhile, the Conservatives are in talks with Northern Ireland’s Democratic Unionist Party about a ‘confidence and supply’ arrangement to ensure it has a working majority in the House of Commons.

Under such arrangements, the DUP’s 10 MPs would back the government in key votes. Talks started over the weekend and DUP leader Arlene Foster is due to meet with prime minister Theresa May tomorrow.

It is not yet clear what the DUP may require as the price of their support. Some suggest that Conservative manifesto commitments to limit welfare payments such as removal of the triple lock on state pensions and means-testing the winter fuel allowance are likely to be ditched.

The DUP’s socially conservative views, however, have caused consternation within the Tory party. Scottish leader Ruth Davidson has sought assurances that any deal with the DUP will not reduce LGBTI rights, and other liberal Conservatives have expressed similar views.

Concerns have also been expressed that a pact with the DUP could be in breach of the Good Friday Agreement and that the government cannot act as an honest broker in Stormont if it is reliant on DUP votes at Westminster.

The power-sharing administration at Stormont is currently suspended following the “cash for ash” scandal and resignation of deputy first minister Martin McGuinness, who died earlier this year.

Full cabinet postings: 

  • Prime minister, first lord of the Treasury and minister for the civil service – Theresa May
  • First secretary of state, and minister for the Cabinet Office – Damian Green
  • Chancellor of the exchequer – Philip Hammond
  • Secretary of state for the Home department – Amber Rudd
  • Secretary of state for foreign and commonwealth afffairs – Boris Johnson
  • Secretary of state for exiting the European Union – David Davis
  • Secretary of state for defence – Sir Michael Fallon
  • Secretary of state for health – Jeremy Hunt 
  • Lord Chancellor; and secretary of state for justice*– David Lidington
  • Secretary of state for education, and minister for women and equalities – Justine Greening
  • Secretary of state for international trade, and president of the board of trade – Liam Fox
  • Secretary of state for business, energy and industrial strategy – Greg Clark
  • Secretary of state for environment, food and rural affairs – Michael Gove
  • Secretary of state for transport – Chris Grayling
  • Secretary of state for communities and local government – Sajid Javid 
  • Lord Privy Seal, and leader of the House of Lords – Baroness Evans of Bowes Park
  • Secretary of state for Scotland – David Mundell
  • Secretary of state for Wales – Alun Cairns 
  • Secretary of state for Northern Ireland – James Brokenshire 
  • Secretary of state for international development – Priti Patel
  • Secretary of state for culture, media and sport – Karen Bradley 
  • Secretary of state for work and pensions – David Gauke
  • Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster* – Sir Patrick McLoughlin

The following also attend Cabinet:

  • Chief secretary to the Treasury – Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss MP
  • Lord president of the council, and leader of the House of Commons – Andrea Leadsom
  • Parliamentary secretary to the Treasury (chief whip) – Gavin Williamson
  • Attorney general – Jeremy Wright QC
  • Minister of state (for immigration), Home Office – Brandon Lewis


  • Vivienne Russell
    Vivienne Russell is managing editor of Public Finance magazine and

Did you enjoy this article?