Historic England gives 10 areas £6m boost to preserve heritage

20 Mar 17

Ten areas in England have been named the first designated Heritage Action Zones and will share in funding of £6m to help them attract tourists and revive local economies.

Historic England made the announcement today and the body said it will work with local authorities through grant funding and training to help them spot heritage potential, restore neglected buildings and ensure new development reflect local character.

Heritage minister Tracey Crouch said England’s historic buildings needed to be “protected and cherished”.

She added: “Making the most out of our listed buildings will help attract more tourists, reinvigorate local areas, and grow local economies, meaning residents and businesses across the country will benefit.”

Duncan Wilson, chief executive of Historic England, said: ‘Through Heritage Action Zones we are providing help where it’s needed most. “England’s rich heritage is one of our greatest capital assets and it’s time to use it to bring about positive change in our communities.

“The historic environment offers people a sense of place, a sense of pride and a sense of belonging - and it helps millions earn a living in this country. Everyone should have a share in its potential.”

The £6m funding pot is available over the next three to five years and will help bring listed, but neglected, buildings back into use either as housing, retail or community spaces. Conservation areas will also be improved to help boost regeneration and historic sites developed as visitor attractions.

Nottingham is one of the 10 Heritage Action Zones, and plans to open up the city’s hidden caves.

Nick McDonald, portfolio holder for business, growth and transport at Nottingham City Council, said: “We’re really proud that Nottingham has been chosen as one of the country’s first Heritage Action Zones by Historic England.

“The city’s unique character and history is a powerful pull for investment, business and visitors… our ambitious heritage-led regeneration plans will help to restore some of that unique character and history.”

The 10 Heritage Action Zones are: ·        




Hull Old Town

King's Lynn 






  • Vivienne Russell
    Vivienne Russell is managing editor of Public Finance magazine and publicfinance.co.uk

Did you enjoy this article?