Eight more places named as Heritage Action Zones

5 Dec 17

A second wave of places have been designated Heritage Action Zones, concentrated largely in the North and Midlands.

They include town centres, former industrial centres and preserved stretches of railway.

Under the Heritage Action Zone scheme, which is run by Historic England, local authorities receive support on planning policy and community engagement. Activities might include bringing neglected buildings back into community use, improving conservation areas and developing historic sites into tourist attractions.

It is hoped the partnerships open up access to grant funding, training and skill sharing.

Heritage minister John Glen said: “The Heritage Action Zone scheme is designed to make the most out of our historic environment to kick-start regeneration, increase tourism and boost investment in our towns and cities.”

Duncan Wilson, Historic England chief executive, added: “Research shows that local history and heritage give people joy and create a sense of pride.

“Through the Heritage Action Zone scheme we want as many people as possible to feel good about the places where they live and work, and to use heritage as a catalyst to help interesting and beautiful towns and cities across England to thrive.”

The eight places designated Heritage Action Zones today are:

  • Bishop Auckland, North East
  • Stockton and Darlington Railway, North East
  • Dewsbury Living Market Town, Yorkshire
  • Rochdale Town Centre, North West
  • Greater Grimsby, East Midlands
  • Stoke-on-Trent Ceramic, West Midlands
  • North Lowestoft Heritage Quarter, East of England
  • Walworth, London

Did you enjoy this article?