Team of local growth ministers announced

12 Aug 16

Business and energy secretary Greg Clark has named local growth ministers for all of England in order to reflect the role of local places in the development of the government’s industrial strategy.

All ministers in the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy have been tasked with building relationships with a number of local enterprise partnerships in England, as well as with the devolved nations.

The department’s ministers – Nick Hurd, Baroness Neville-Rolfe, Jo Johnson, Margot James and Jesse Norman – will be the first point of contact for respective LEPs in England within the department.

Clark, who was named business and energy secretary in the government reshuffle in July, said that he was giving ministers geographic areas of responsibility so they can build on existing relationships to better connect policy with business and industry.

Government has helped transform the business landscape by putting power back into the hands of local communities and businesses to drive economic growth through the creation of local enterprise partnerships, he said.

“This is part of our plan to build an economy that works for all,” he added.

“An effective industrial strategy has to recognise and take advantage of the differences and unique strengths that exist across the country, and I will be encouraging all my ministers to get out there and meet the people who know their area best.”

The full list of ministerial allocations to LEPs is:


Nick Hurd

Leeds City Region


York and North Yorkshire

Sheffield City Region

D2N2 (Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire)

Greater Lincolnshire

Leicester and Leicestershire



Baroness Neville-Rolfe



Swindon and Wiltshire


Buckinghamshire Thames Valley

Thames Valley Berkshire


South East Midlands



Jo Johnson

Greater Cambridge and Greater Peterborough

New Anglia

South East

Coast to Capital (area from South London to the coast of Brighton)

Greater Manchester


Enterprise M3 (M3 Corridor)

Cheshire and Warrington


Margot James

Greater Birmingham and Solihull

Black Country

Coventry and Warwickshire

Stoke-on-Trent and Staffordshire


Liverpool City Region


Jesse Norman

Tees Valley

North Eastern

The Marches


West of England

Heart of the South West

Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly


Devolved Nations


Northern Ireland – Jesse Norman

Scotland – Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Wales – Nick Hurd

Did you enjoy this article?