NHS and DfE FDs honoured in New Year's list

2 Jan 18

The New Year once again brought honours for a range of public sector leaders and professionals, including the finance directors of the NHS and the Department for Education.

Paul Baumann, chief financial officer of NHS EnglandPaul Baumann [pictured right], chief financial officer of NHS England, was given a CBE for services to NHS financial management, while Howard Orme, chief financial and operating officer at the DfE, was made a Companion of the Order of the Bath.

This honour was also given to another Whitehall finance chief, David Rossington, former finance director at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.

Edward Troup, who stepped down as executive chair of HM Revenue & Customs, received a knighthood, as did Philip Rutnam, permanent secretary at the Home Office.

Other public sector leaders to be honoured included Andrea Sutcliffe, chief inspector of adult social care at the Care Quality Commission, who received a CBE and Jim Martin, who stood down as Scottish Public Services Ombudsman last year. Martin also received a CBE.

CBEs also went to Shaun Kingsbury, chief executive of the Green Investment Bank, which was sold to the private sector last year, and to Stephen Howlett, former group chief executive of the Peabody housing association. Howlett retired from Peabody, after 13 years in the top job, in July last year.

In local government, there were honours for council chief executives including Elma Murray, of North Ayrshire Council, Joyce White, of West Dunbartonshire Council and Susan Smith, joint chief executive of South Northamptonshire and Cherwell district councils.

Alan Wood, former director of children and young people’s services at the London Borough of Hackney received a knighthood, while there was a CBE for Dave Hill, executive director for education and social care, at Essex County Council.

Local government members honoured included Stephen Brady, leader of Hull Council, which was UK city of culture in 2017.

Professor David Bell, professor of economics at the University of Stirling, and a member of CIPFA’s Brexit Commission, received a CBE for services to economics and public policy.

Politicians and former politicians were richly rewarded. Nick Clegg, former Liberal Democrat leader and deputy prime minister in the 2010-15 coalition government, received a knighthood for political and public service.

There were also knighthoods for Conservative backbenchers Graham Brady, chair of the 1922 Committee, Christopher Chope and Geoffrey Clifton-Brown.

  • Vivienne Russell

    Vivienne Russell is managing editor of Public Finance magazine and publicfinance.co.uk

Did you enjoy this article?