Morgan fights off Rees-Mogg to take chair of Treasury committee

14 Jul 17

Former education secretary Nicky Morgan has been elected the Treasury select committee chair as the new parliament beds in.

The Conservative MP, who was a strong Remain campaigner and David Cameron ally, fought off competition from five other candidates, including pro-Brexit Conservative MP Jacob Rees-Mogg.

Morgan was one of 11 chairs named yesterday by the Speaker of the House John Bercow who were elected after a vote.

Labour MP Rachel Reeves saw off competition from four other contenders – including former chief secretary to the Treasury Liam Byrne – to become chair of the business, energy and industrial strategy committee.

Clive Betts won 335 votes to 229 against David Lammy to be re-elected chair of the communities and local government committee. The full list of contested select committee chair positions listed below.

Morgan said: “Parliament has a strong role to play in scrutinising the government, and the select committee system acquires ever more importance in a hung parliament.

“I look forward to working with my colleagues on the committee to consistently, impartially and fairly hold the Treasury to account.”

Reeves said: “As a committee, there are a number of issues I believe we will want to consider for future inquiries.

“Ensuring that we develop sustainable growth and climate change policies that help create new and well paid jobs should be a priority for the committee.”

Betts said: “Local government faces a number of challenges over the coming years and I hope the committee will shine a light on these issues, provide robust scrutiny of government policy, and propose constructive solutions.”

Labour’s Meg Hillier was unopposed to remain chair of the influential Public Accounts Committee and Conservative Sarah Wollaston was re-elected to the position of chair of the health committee. The full list of committee chairs is here.

Contested select committee elections:

  • Business, energy and industrial strategy (Labour) - Rachel Reeves
  • Communities and local government (Labour) - Clive Betts
  • Defence (Conservative) - Julian Lewis
  • Education (Conservative) - Robert Halfon
  • Environment, food and rural affairs (Conservative) - Neil Parish
  • Foreign affairs (Conservative) - Tom Tugendhat
  • Northern Ireland affairs (Conservative) - Dr Andrew Murrison
  • Science and technology (Liberal Democrat) - Norman Lamb
  • Transport (Labour) - Lilian Greenwood
  • Treasury (Conservative) - Nicky Morgan


Did you enjoy this article?