Whiteman joins inclusive growth commission

16 May 16

CIPFA chief executive Rob Whiteman has been named as a member of the RSA Inclusive Growth Commission that is considering how to use devolution to help create more prosperous communities.

The full list of members of the commission was published last week as it held its first meeting. Other members include Naomi Eisenstadt, a former anti-poverty adviser to the Scottish Government and former Rolls Royce chief executive Sir John Rose.

The 12-member commission is the successor to the RSA City Growth Commission, chaired by now Treasury minister Lord O’Neill, which was influential in the development of the government’s devolution programme, including the Northern Powerhouse.

The new commission will develop a practical plan to make cities and towns across the UK more economically inclusive in order for more people to contribute to, and benefit from, local growth.

Commission chair Stephanie Flanders, JP Morgan’s chief market strategist (Britain and Europe) and a former BBC economics editor, said the commissioners had specialisms that span the breadth of British public life.

“We have assembled a commission with a collective expertise on the economy, social policy and the politics of place,” she added.

“This will be critical if we are to develop a practical agenda to tackle the entrenched inequalities within and between neighbourhoods that hold back growth.”

The full membership of the RSA Inclusive Growth Commission is:

Stephanie Flanders (chair), JP Morgan chief market strategist (Britain and Europe) and former BBC economics editor         

Giles Andrews, Founder, Zopa (peer to peer lender)       

Naomi Eisenstadt, former anti-poverty adviser to the Scottish Government

Indy Johar, co-founder, 00 (architect and regeneration consultant)

John van Reenen, director of the Centre for Economic Performance at the London School of Economics

Julia Unwin, chief executive, Joseph Rowntree Foundation

Richard Reeves, senior fellow, Brookings Institution

Sir John Rose, former chief executive, Rolls Royce

Rob Whiteman, chief executive, CIPFA

Sue Woodward, founder, The Sharp Project and The Space Project

Ben Lucas, Managing Director, MetroDynamics (ex officio)

Charlotte Alldritt, Director Public Services and Communities, RSA (ex officio)

Did you enjoy this article?