May completes government reshuffle

18 Jul 16

Prime minister Theresa May has completed her government reshuffle, filling posts at junior ministerial level.

Among the changes is the move of housing minister Brandon Lewis to the Home Office where he assumes the police and fire role previously held by Mike Penning who goes to the Ministry of Defence.

Greg Hands, the former chief secretary to the Treasury, is demoted and becomes minister of state at the new department for International Trade, which is headed up by Liam Fox.

Matt Hancock, who had been a Cabinet Office minister and a close ally of former chancellor George Osborne, remains in the government as minister for state at the Department for Culture, Media and Sport responsible for digital policy. Long-serving DCMS minister Ed Vaizey has left the government.

Other ministers to leave the government include justice minister Dominic Raab, business minister Anna Soubrey and pensions minister Baroness Altmann.

At the Department of Communities and Local Government, the new ministerial team includes Gavin Barwell, who takes on responsibility for housing and planning as well as London; Andrew Percy and Marcus Jones are appointed under-secretaries of state, while Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth becomes DCLG’s minister in the Lords.

May finalised her Cabinet appointments last Thursday, the day after becoming prime minister.

A full list of the new Cabinet can be viewed here.

  • Vivienne Russell
    Vivienne Russell is managing editor of Public Finance magazine and

Did you enjoy this article?